Hexagonal crochet blanket

My first ever blog and who would have thought I would be so nervous? It’s like starting school all over again. Anyway, I thought I would start with sharing my most recent crochet project, a hexagonal baby blanket that I made for one of my lovely friends daughter. My friend has just moved house and decorated her daughter’s room in a beautiful yellow with curtains made from this Ikea fabric… FREDRIKA Fabric IKEA …so I thought I would try and design a small cotbed blanket to match, and here it is

solid hexagon crochet blanket flowers  solid hexagon crochet blanket flowers

I used the amazingly easy to follow pattern here for the hexagons (making them a bit smaller) and I used two methods to join the hexagons. I sewed the flowers together and then realised it would be much easier if I used a join-as-you-go method when I started the white ones. I blocked the blanket although I notice the edges are turning up a bit. I did consider an edging and found so many lovely ideas but in the end decided to leave it. Almost forgot to say I used a 3.5mm hook and Stylecraft Special bought at my lovely local wool shop, The Wool Stop in Thornbury. I have just started a new project and can’t wait to share it with you soon. In the meantime, please bear with me as I thought I was quite technically minded but I am obviously not! x

6 thoughts on “Hexagonal crochet blanket

Leave a Reply

